Hear a track from John Hiatt’s new album, The Eclipse Sessions

His 23rd studio effort is released on October 12

Trending Now

John Hiatt has announced that his new album, The Eclipse Sessions, will be released via New West Records on October 12.

It was produced by Kevin McKendree and features Hiatt’s longtime drummer Kenneth Blevins and bassist Patrick O’Hearn, as well as Yates McKendree (Kevin’s 17-year old son, who also engineered).

Order the latest issue of Uncut online and have it sent to your home – with no delivery charge!


Hear a track from the album, “Cry To Me”, below:

Regarding the title, Hiatt and his band were in the studio on August 21, 2017 when a solar eclipse travelled the length of the continental US. “I think we recorded three songs that day, and then we took a break to go outside and watch everything happen,” Hiatt says. “It seemed everything stopped for a minute or two. It was like a magical little bit of time, a harmonic convergence or something. Like everybody was on the same page.”

You can check out the tracklisting for The Eclipse Sessions below and pre-order the album here.


1. Cry To Me
2. All The Way To The River
3. Aces Up Your Sleeve
4. Poor Imitation Of God
5. Nothing In My Heart
6. Over The Hill
7. Outrunning My Soul
8. Hide Your Tears
9. The Odds Of Loving You
10. One Stiff Breeze
11. Robber’s Highway

The September 2018 issue of Uncut is now on sale in the UK – with Rod Stewart on the cover. Elsewhere in the issue, you’ll find exclusive features on Pixies, The Byrds, Jess Williamson, Liverpool’s post-punk scene, Sly Stone, Gruff Rhys, White Denim, Beth Orton, Mary Lattimore and many more. Our free CD showcases 15 tracks of this month’s best new music, including Oh Sees, Cowboy Junkies, Elephant Micah, Papa M and Odetta Hartman.


Latest Issue