New York imprint's bumper pack of freestyle punk-funk

Product Overview

Overall rating:

Score 4


Various Artists – DFA Compilation #2

James Murphy and Tim Goldsworthy’s Death From Above label seriously impresses with this three-disc offering of brave new work from their coterie of thrift-store druids and cosmic crusaders.

Percussive wig-out “Bellhead”, the first release in 20 years by clandestine post-punk deities Liquid Liquid, may be the centrepiece, but it’s the DFA-enhanced “Sunplus” by Boredoms offshoot J.O.Y., and Delia Gonzalez & Gavin Russom’s majestic “Rise” that really flick the trip switch.

Regulars like The Rapture, Black Dice and LCD Soundsystem are also in attendance, while Goldsworthy’s 12-track mix provides a handy way into this out-there collection.