Watch Thom Yorke play three new songs in Japan

He also performed tracks from Tomorrow's Modern Boxes

Trending Now

Thom Yorke debuted three new songs at a gig in Japan last night.

The singer was joined by Nigel Godrich at Zepp Namba Osaka in Tokyo for the show which featured material from his recent album Tomorrow’s Modern Boxes, 2013 LP Amok and his debut The Eraser.

Yorke also debuted three new songs – “Impossible Knots“, “Not The News” and “Traffic“, which you can watch below.


The gig was only his second show after his recent performance at the Latitude Festival.

Thom Yorke played:

‘The Clock’
‘Brain In A Bottle’
‘Impossible Knots’
‘Black Swan’
‘Guess Again!’
‘Not The News’
‘Truth Ray’
‘Pink Section’
‘Nose Grows Some’
‘Cymbal Rush’


Yorke recently revealed that he will compose new music for an upcoming for a new production of Harold Pinter‘s play Old Times in New York.

The play will star Clive Owen, Eve Best and Kelly Reilly and be directed by Douglas Hodge. It will run at American Airlines Theatre from October 6 through to November 29, presented by the Roundabout Theatre Company.

“It’s been a pleasure working with Doug on my first stage production,” Yorke said of his involvement. “I’ve enjoyed exploring through music the script’s themes of love and memory as well as Pinter’s rhythms, twists and turns.”

Director Hodge added: “The music Thom has written for Old Times gives an immediacy and a ‘now?ness’ to the show.”

“The play itself is about memory and love – Thom’s music works backwards and forwards and plays with time and repetition in the same way Pinter does.”

“In true Thom Yorke style, the music is epic, heartbreaking, irresistible and complex. I’m hopeful this collaboration will result in a new kind of theatre-goer coming to our show.”

The History Of Rock – a brand new monthly magazine from the makers of Uncut – a brand new monthly magazine from the makers of Uncut – is now on sale in the UK. Click here for more details.

Meanwhile, the September 2015 issue of Uncut is on sale in the UK on Tuesday, July 28 – featuring David Gilmour, a free Grateful Dead CD, Bob Dylan and the Newport Folk Festival, AC/DC, Killing Joke, the Isley Brothers, Julien Temple, Ryley Walker and more.

Uncut: the spiritual home of great rock music.


Latest Issue