Uncut Music Award Shortlist Revealed – What do you think of the 8 contenders?

Uncut is excited to reveal which eight artists have made it through to this year's Uncut Music Award shortlist!

Trending Now

Uncut is excited to reveal which eight artists have made it through to this year’s Uncut Music Award shortlist!

Whittled down from the longlist of 25, Bob Dylan, Tinariwen, Grizzly Bear and Wilco are amongst the eight albums in the running for the prize to reward the “most inspiring and rewarding musical experience” of the past year.


The other contenders are Kings Of Leon, The Low Anthem, Dirty Projectors and Animal Collective.

Allan Jones Uncut’s Editor says of the Award so far: ‘“If there’s one thing at this stage that I think the judges can agree on it’s that 2009 was another brilliant year for music, which of course just makes our job that much harder. It was difficult enough to pick eight albums from our original long-list of 25, and the task now of choosing a winner and runners-up from our short-list is going to be even more daunting.

“Every one of these albums would make a worthy winner of this year’s Uncut Music Award and I am sure the final judging session will be full of passionate debate as the judges put forward their cases for their favourite albums. It promises to be an exciting afternoon and I look forward to hearing the views of the other judges on these exceptional records.”


The Uncut Music Award 2009 judging panel includes Uncut editor, Allan Jones, UMA 2008 winner Fleet FoxesRobin Pecknold, Billy Bragg, folk singer Rachel Unthank, Absolute Radio DJ Christian O’Connell, BBC creative head of music entertainment Mark Cooper, Stiff Records founder Dave Robinson plus broadcasters Mark Radcliffe, Bob Harris and Danny Kelly.

The inaugural Uncut Music Award was awarded to Fleet Foxes for their self-titled debut album.

What do YOU think of the shortlist? Let us know in the comments below!.

The full Uncut Music Award shortlist is:

  • Animal Collective – Merriweather Post Pavilion (Domino)
  • Bob Dylan – Together Through Life (Columbia)
  • Dirty Projectors – Bitte Orca (Domino)
  • Grizzly Bear – Veckatimest (Warp)
  • Kings of Leon – Only By The Night (Columbia)
  • The Low Anthem – Oh My God Charlie Darwin (Bella Union)
  • Tinariwen – Imidiwan: Companions (Independiente)
  • Wilco – Wilco (the album) (Nonesuch)

Latest Issue