Thom Yorke debuts new songs at intimate Cambridge Gig

Radiohead frontman also names new solo-side project

Trending Now

Thom Yorke played three new tracks at his Cambridge gig last night (February 25) during a one-off benefit gig for the Green Party.

The singer debuted the songs as part of a 19-song set – which included Radiohead tracks and some songs from ‘Eraser’, his 2006 debut album – at the Cambridge Corn Exchange.

The gig was performed in support of Tony Juniper, who accompanied Yorke as he crashed the UN Climate Change Conference in December.


Yorke explained his reasons for performing the gig, informing the crowd: “I am sick of politicians not talking about green issues. What fucking blows my mind is that half the country is supporting environmental issues yet we are not represented in parliament and the chance for that to change has got to happen.”

The three new songs Yorke played were ‘The Daily Mail’, ‘Give Up The Ghost’ and ‘Mouse Dog Bird’.

Thom Yorke played:


‘The Clock’

‘The Eraser’

‘Weird Fishes’

‘The Daily Mail’

‘Pyramid Song’

‘Harrowdown Hill’

‘Lotus Flower’

‘Give Up The Ghost’

‘These Are My Twisted Words’

‘I Froze Up’

‘Like Spinning Plates’

‘Black Swan’

‘Cymbal Rush’


‘Mouse Dog Bird’



‘Atoms For Peace’

‘True Love Waits’

In other Yorke news, the singer recently christened his new sideproject Atoms For Peace, after the song on ‘The Eraser’. Alongside Yorke, the band features Red Hot Chili Peppers bassist Flea, Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich, Beck and REM cohort Joey Waronker and Mauro Refosco of Forro In The Dark. Writing on Dead Air Space, he added that the name “seemed bleedin’ obvious”.

Atoms For Peace played their debut show in Los Angeles last October, and are playing a string of gigs in the US this April.

Latest music and film news on


Latest Issue