The B-52s work with New Order producer

Legendary new wavers prepare first album in over a decade

Trending Now

An Audience With Andrew Weatherall

By way of tribute to Andrew Weatherall, whose death was confirmed earlier today, I thought I’d post my interview...

Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever on their new album: “It’s weirder… it feels exciting”

In our recent 2020 album preview, Fran Keaney, singer and acoustic guitarist in Melbourne's Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever, told...

The 3rd Uncut New Music Playlist of 2020

The return of Jason Isbell and Lucinda Williams, plus King Krule, Hailu Mergia and Jon Hopkins

The B-52’s, the prototype Scissor Sisters with the colourful outfits and rhythmic pop music, are working with New Order’s producer Steve Osbourne on their first new album since 1992.

The band have described the new material as “Rock’n’Roll-Glam-Electro-Soul”.

The last B-52’s album was 1992’s ‘Good Stuff’ but they haven’t recorded with founding member Cindy Wilson since 1989’s ‘Cosmic Thing’.

“We took a short break which ended up lasting several years with each of us going our individual ways musically…” said guitarist Keith Strickland on “I considered doing a solo album, but in a moment of clarity I decided that I would rather put my energy into a new B-52’s album.”

Strickland explained why they have chosen Osbourne to man the studio controls on this, their comeback project, which they actually began three years ago.

“(He) produced the New Order album ‘Get Ready’ which I love,” said Stickland. “When we were discussing producers for the album, I suggested Steve.”

There is a theme to The B-52’s’ forthcoming rock’n’roll-glam-electro-soul offering, although Strickland is reluctant to give too much away.

“About halfway through these sessions we noticed a theme developing,” he said. “However, I don’t want to spoil the experience. You’ve got to hear it to believe it.”

A release date for the untitled album has yet to be announced.


Latest Issue

Robert Plant, Karen Dalton, Elton John, Stephen Malkmus, Maria McKee, Shabaka Hutchings and Iggy & Bowie – plus a free 15-track CD