Robert Forster announces new album, Inferno

Plus UK and Irish dates in May

Trending Now

The Go-Betweens’ Robert Forster has announced that his new solo album Inferno will be released on March 1, 2019.

Inferno was recorded in Berlin in summer 2018 with producer/engineer Victor Van Vugt, who previously engineered Forster’s debut solo album Danger In The Past. As with Forster’s previous album Songs To Play, it features Brisbane-based multi-instrumentalists Scott Bromley and Karin Bãumler, while new recruits are drummer Earl Havin (Tindersticks, Mary J. Blige) and keyboardist Michael Muhlhaus (Blumfeld, Kante).

Order the latest issue of Uncut online and have it sent to your home!


Says Forster: “I had nine songs I believed in, and I wanted to take them out of hometown Brisbane and record them somewhere else. Somewhere exotic. And producer/engineer Victor Van Vugt had a studio in Berlin. Perfect. The album title relates to Brisbane, as the summers are getting brutal hot. Inferno fits that and the fevered mood of the LP…”

Forster will tour Inferno will a full band in the spring. UK and Ireland dates are as follows:


May 2019
14 LONDON Union Chapel
15 BRISTOL The Fleece
16 MANCHESTER Band On The Wall
17 GLASGOW King Tuts
19 DUBLIN Button Factory
20 CORK Cyprus Avenue

Tickets are on sale now from here and here.

The January 2019 issue of Uncut is now on sale in the UK – with Jack White on the cover. Inside, White heads up our Review Of The Year – which also features the best new albums, archive releases, films and books of the last 12 months. Aside from White, there are exclusive interviews with Paul Weller, Elvis Costello, Stephen Malkmus, Courtney Barnett, Low and Mélissa Laveaux. Our 15-track CD also showcases the best music of 2018.


Latest Issue