Rise Of Indie Dance Reflected In Mercury Shortlist

Klaxons and New Young Pony Club both appear on album shortlist

Trending Now

This year’s Nationwide Mercury Music Prize Shortlist has been revealed this morning (July 17) and includes two previous winners.

This year’s shortlist appears to reflect the resurgence indie dance and the continuing success of guitar bands. Bands the Klaxons, New Young Pony Club, The View and The Young Knives are all in competition for the award due to be announced on September 4.

Arctic Monkeys have been nominated for the second year running with their second album ‘Favourite Worst Nightmare’. They won the £20, 000 award last year for their debut ‘Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not’.


The British hip-hop/grime producer/MC Dizzee Rascal, also a winner of the prize in 2003 for his debut ‘Boy In The Corner’ has also been nominated for the award again. His new album ‘Maths + English’ is up for contention.

Arctic Monkeys – ‘Favourite Worst Nightmare’

Dizzee Rascal – ‘Maths + English’


Bat for Lashes – ‘Fur and Gold’

Maps – ‘We Can Create’

Fionn Regan – ‘The End of History’

The View – ‘Hats Off to the Buskers’

New Young Pony Club – ‘Fantastic Playroom’

Dizzee Rascal – ‘Maths + English’

Klaxons – ‘Myths of the Near Future’

Amy Winehouse – ‘Back to Black’

The Young Knives – ‘Voices of Animals and Men’

Jamie T – ‘Panic Prevention’

Basquiat Strings – ‘Basquiat Strings with Seb Rochford’

You can read Uncut’s thoughts on the shortlist at our Wild Mercury Sound blog.


Latest Issue