Rage Against The Machine, Sonic Youth, Massive Attack to boycott playing in the state of Arizona

The bands are unhappy at a new immigration bill

Trending Now

Rage Against The Machine singer Zack de la Rocha is at the helm of a protest group opposing the state of Arizona‘s controversial new immigration law.

Other acts including Sonic Youth, Massive Attack, Kanye West and Serj Tankian are supporting the group by saying they will not play any gigs in the state until the bill, called SB 1070, is amended. SB 1070 allows police in Arizona to challenge anybody they suspect of being an illegal immigrant to prove their status officially. Failure to do so will result in arrest.

Calling themselves The Sound Strike, the protest group is calling on more people to join them by going to Thesoundstrike.net.

Those who have signed up to support the group already are:

Cypress Hill
Conor Oberst
Los Tigres del Norte
Rage Against The Machine
Cafe Tacvba
Michael Moore
Kanye West
Calle 13
Joe Satriani
Serj Tankian
Rise Against
Sabertooth Tiger
Massive Attack
One Day as a Lion
Street Sweeper Social Club
Spank Rock
Sonic Youth
Tenacious D

Latest music and film news on Uncut.co.uk.

Bookmark and Share


Latest Issue