Portishead Reveal ‘Third’ Album Details

The band go formatting crazy -- everything from etched LPs to USBs...

Trending Now

Portishead have revealed details about their forthcoming album ‘Third”s release.

The band’s first studio album since 1997’s self-titled second album is set for release on April 28 and will come in a multitude of limited edition formats including a double vinyl version and a 1GB USB which also features a selection of films including ‘The Rip live @ Mr Wolfe’s and ‘The Truly Spectacular Universal Conference Film’.

A limited boxset comprising a double vinyl, 1GB USB, a 12″ etched vinyl of ‘Machine Gun’ and limited edition prints from Nick Uff will also be made available. More details to follow.


A single ‘Machine Gun’ taken from ‘Third’ will be released two weeks before the album on April 14.

A download version of the single will be available from the band’s website here: www.portishead.co.uk from April 10.

The full tracklisting for ‘Third’ is:


1. Silence

2. Hunter

3. Nylon Smile

4. The Rip

5. Plastic

6. We Carry On

7. Deep Water

8. Machine Gun

9. Small

10. Magic Doors

11. Threads

Portishead are also currently on a short European tour, they will play:

Oporto Coliseum (March 26)

Lisbon Coliseum (27)

Milan Alcatraz (30)

Florence Sashall (31)

Munich Tonhalle (April 2)

Berlin Columbiahalle (3)

Copenhagen KB Hallen (4)

Cologne Palladium (6)

Amsterdam HMH (7)

Manchester Apollo (9)

London Hammersmith Apollo (10)

Edinburgh Corn Exchange (12)

Wolverhampton Civic Hall (13)

London, Brixton Academy (17)

Paris Zenith (May 5, 6)

Brussels Forest National (8)


Latest Issue