PJ Harvey premieres new song ‘The Community of Hope’

The news of her ninth studio record was announced in December

Trending Now

PJ Harvey has returned with new song ‘The Community of Hope’ ahead of the release of her new studio album.

‘The Community of Hope’ is the opening song on Harvey’s forthcoming album ‘The Hope Six Demolition Project’ and can be heard here, after it was premiered on BBC 6 Music. Scroll to the 50 minute mark to hear the song in full.

As reported, Harvey’s ‘The Hope Six Demolition Project’ will be released on April 15. She will also appear at festivals including Glastonbury and Field Day this summer.


‘The Hope Six Demolition Project’ will be available on vinyl, CD and as a digital download. The full track-listing is:

‘The Community of Hope’
‘The Ministry of Defence’
‘A Line in the Sand’
‘Chain of Keys’
‘River Anacostia’
‘Near the Memorials to Vietnam and Lincoln’
‘The Orange Monkey’
‘The Ministry of Social Affairs’
‘The Wheel’
‘Dollar, Dollar’

‘The Hope Six Demolition Project’ was created during Harvey and Seamus Murphy’s travels between 2011-2014 to destinations including Kosovo, Afghanistan and Washington, DC. The Hollow Of The Hand, a book of Harvey’s poetry from the same trip, was published last year.


The album was recorded at London’s Somerset House in 2015 during open recording sessions which the public could attend.

Harvey and Murphy also staged a multimedia show in London in October where ten new songs were performed alongside poems, photos and short films from Murphy.

‘Let England Shake’, PJ Harvey’s last studio album, was released in 2011.

The April 2016 issue of Uncut is now on sale in the UK – featuring our cover story on the making of Bruce Springsteen’s album The River, Jeff Buckley, Free’s Paul Kossoff, Jeff Lynne, Tame Impala, Underworld, White Denim, Eddie Kramer, Chris Isaak, Miles Davis – The Movie and more plus 40 pages of reviews and our free 15-track CD

Uncut: the spiritual home of great rock music.


Latest Issue