The National announce new album; share new song, “The System Only Dreams in Total Darkness”

Their seventh studio album, Sleep Well Beast, is out September 8

Trending Now

The National have announced details of their new studio album.

Sleep Well Beast will be released by 4AD on September 8.

The record – their seventh – was produced by member Aaron Dessner with co-production by Bryce Dessner and Matt Berninger. The album was mixed by Peter Katis and recorded at Aaron Dessner’s Hudson Valley, New York studio, Long Pond.


The tracklisting for the album is:
Nobody Else Will Be There
Day I Die
Walk It Back
The System Only Dreams in Total Darkness
Born to Beg
Empire Line
I’ll Still Destroy You
Guilty Party
Carin at the Liquor Store
Dark Side of the Gym
Sleep Well Beast

The band have shared a video for “The System Only Dreams in Total Darkness“, which you can watch below:

The band have also plotted a world tour, which begins in June at the Glastonbury Festival. You can see the full run of tour dates below.


23-25/06/17 – Glastonbury Festival – Glastonbury, UK
12/08/17 – HAVEN Festival – Copenhagen, DENMARK
16/09/17 – Cork Opera House / Sounds From a Safe Harbour – Cork, IRELAND
17/09/17 – Vicar Street – Dublin, IRELAND
18/09/17 – Vicar Street – Dublin, IRELAND
20/09/17 – Usher Hall – Edinburgh, UK
21/09/17 – Usher Hall – Edinburgh, UK
22/09/17 – O2 Apollo – Manchester, UK
23/09/17 – O2 Apollo – Manchester, UK
25/09/17 – Eventim Hammersmith Apollo – London, UK
26/09/17 – Eventim Hammersmith Apollo – London, UK
27/09/17 – Eventim Hammersmith Apollo – London, UK
28/09/17 – Eventim Hammersmith Apollo – London, UK
05/10/17 – Wang Theatre – Boston, MA, USA
06/10/17 – Forest Hills Stadium – New York, NY, USA
11/10/17 – Hollywood Bowl – Los Angeles, CA, USA
12/10/17 – CalCoast Credit Union Open Air Theatre – San Diego, CA, USA
14/10/17 – Greek Theatre – Berkeley, CA, USA
21/10/17 – Elbphilharmonie – Hamburg, GERMANY
23/10/17 – Tempodrom – Berlin, GERMANY
24/10/17 – Tempodrom – Berlin, GERMANY
25/10/17 – AFAS Live – Amsterdam, THE NETHERLANDS
28/10/17 – Coliseum – Lisbon, PORTUGAL
30/10/17 – Palais des Beaux-Arts – Brussels, BELGIUM
31/10/17 – Palais des Beaux-Arts – Brussels, BELGIUM
02-04/11/17 – Pitchfork Paris, Paris, FRANCE
04/11/17 – Annexet – Stockholm, SWEDEN
05/11/17 – Annexet – Stockholm, SWEDEN
06/11/17 – Sentrum Scene – Oslo, NORWAY
07/11/17 – Sentrum Scene – Oslo, NORWAY
27/11/17 – Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall – Portland, OR, USA
28/11/17 – Paramount Theatre – Seattle, WA, USA
29/11/17 – Paramount Theatre – Seattle, WA, USA
01/12/17 – Queen Elizabeth Theatre – Vancouver BC, CANADA
02/12/17 – Queen Elizabeth Theatre – Vancouver BC, CANADA
04/12/17 – Verizon Hall – Philadelphia, PA, USA
07/12/17 – Metropolis – Montreal QC, CANADA
08/12/17 – Metropolis – Montreal QC, CANADA
09/12/17 – Sony Centre – Toronto ON, CANADA
10/12/17 – Hamilton Place Theatre – Hamilton ON, CANADA
12/12/17 – Civic Opera House – Chicago, IL, USA
13/12/17 – Civic Opera House – Chicago, IL, USA

The June 2017 issue of Uncut is now on sale in the UK – featuring our cover story on Summer Of Love, talking to the musicians, promoters and scenesters on both sides of the Atlantic who were there. Plus, we count down the 50 essential songs from the Summer Of Love, from The Seeds to The Smoke, and including The Beatles, The Rolling Stones and Pink Floyd. Elsewhere in the issue, we remember Chuck Berry, go on the road with Bob Dylan and there are interview Fleet Foxes, Fairport Convention, Fred Wesley, Jane Birkin and David Lynch’s Twin Peaks’ co-conspirators Angelo Badalamenti and Julee Cruise. Our free CD has been exclusively compiled for us by Fleet Foxes’ Robin Pecknold and includes cuts from Todd Rundgren, Neu!, Van Dyke Parks, The Shaggs, Arthur Russell and Cate Le Bon. Plus there’s Feist, Paul Weller, Perfume Genius, Ray Davies, Joan Shelley, Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds, Johnny Cash, Alice Coltrane, John Martyn and more in our exhaustive reviews section


Latest Issue