Leonard Cohen reveals tracklisting and release date for ‘Old Ideas’

Singer's first album for eight years will drop in late January

Trending Now

Leonard Cohen has confirmed full details of his new album ‘Old Ideas’ and has revealed it will be released in late January.

The album, which will be the iconic singer-songwriter’s first studio album since 2004’s ‘Dear Heather’, has been given a release date of January 31 in the US, meaning it is likely to be released on January 30 in the UK.

‘Old Ideas’ contains 10 previously unreleased tracks which, according to the album’s official press release, will “poetically address some of the most profound quandaries of human existence – the relationship to a transcendent being, love, sexuality, loss and death.”


The album’s third track ‘Show Me The Place’ is set to be streamed online in the next few days.

Earlier this year, Leonard Cohen was awarded Spain’s esteemed Prince Of Asturias Award for literature, joining previous winners of the prestigious prize such as the playwright Arthur Miller and naturalist Sir David Attenborough.

The tracklisting for ‘Old Ideas’ is as follows:


‘Going Home’


‘Show Me the Place’

‘The Darkness’


‘Crazy To Love You’

‘Come Healing’



‘Different Sides’

Latest music and film news on

Uncut have teamed up with Sonic Editions to curate a number of limited-edition framed iconic rock photographs, featuring the likes of Pink Floyd, Bob Dylan and The Clash. View the full collection here.


Latest Issue