Gil Scott Heron to release album with The xx’s Jamie Smith

Smith has reworked 13 songs for the release

Trending Now

The xx‘s Jamie Smith‘s reworking of Gil Scott-Heron‘s latest album ‘Im New Here’ is set for release on February 21.

The album, named ‘We’re New Here’, will preceded by the release of a single, ‘NY Is Killing Me’. Scroll down and click below to listen to it.

Smith has reworked 13 songs from the original album for the new release, set to come out on CD, vinyl, vinyl box set and as a download.


See for more information.

The tracklisting of ‘We’re New Here’ is:

‘I’m New Here’



‘I’ve Been Me (Interlude)’


‘My Cloud’

‘Certain Things (Interlude)’

‘The Crutch’

‘Ur Soul and Mine’

‘Parents (Interlude)’

‘Piano Player’

‘NY Is Killing Me’

‘Jazz (Interlude)’

‘I’ll Take Care Of U’

Latest music and film news on

Uncut have teamed up with Sonic Editions to curate a number of limited-edition framed iconic rock photographs, featuring the likes of Pink Floyd, Bob Dylan and The Clash. View the full collection here.


Latest Issue