Elvis Costello Readies New Album For June

15 tracks recorded with T-Bone Burnett in Nashville

Trending Now

Elvis Costello has recorded a new album ‘Secret, Profane & Sugarcane’ with legendary producer T Bone Burnett, which will be ready for release on June 1.

Recorded at Nashville’s Sound Emporium Studio in just 3 days, the bluegrass musicians who helped Costello include Jerry Douglas (dobro), Stuart Duncan (fiddle), Mike Compton (mandolin), Jeff Taylor (accordion) and Dennis Crouch (double bass).

‘Secret, Profane & Sugarcane’ features ten previously unrecorded songs, plus two songs were co-writes with Burnett; “Sulphur to Sugarcane” and “The Crooked Line”.


Two songs originally written for Johnny Cash “Hidden Shame” and “Boom Chicka Boom” have also been revisted, this time with a string band.

Costello is about to announce some North America live dates in June and August, stay tuned to www.uncut.co.uk for info soon.

The ‘Secret, Profane & Sugarcane’ track list is:


1. Down Among the Wine and Spirits

2. Complicated Shadows

3. I Felt the Chill

4. My All Time Doll

5. Hidden Shame

6. She Handed Me a Mirror

7. I Dreamed of My Old Lover

8. How Deep is the Red

9. She Was No Good

10. Sulfur to Sugarcane

11. Red Cotton

12. The Crooked Line

13. Changing Partners

For more music and film news click here


Latest Issue