David Bowie’s Lazarus musical: song titles revealed

There's 14 in total, drawn from throughout his career

Trending Now

David Bowie‘s off-Broadway musical Lazarus opened last night [December 7, 2015] at the New York Theater Workshop.

The production is a sequel to Walter Tevis’ novel, The Man Who Fell To Earth, which was filmed by Nic Roeg in 1976 starring Bowie.

In this new production, Michael C Hall plays Thomas Newton – the alien played by Bowie in Roeg’s film.


The production contains a number of songs from Bowie’s back catalogue, as well as four new tracks. The title track appears on Bowie’s new album, ★.

There are 18 songs in total. The songs taken from Bowie’s catalogue are:

“It’s No Game (Part 1)”
“This Is Not America”
“The Man Who Sold The World”
“Love Is Lost”
“Where Are We Now?”
“Absolute Beginners”
“Dirty Boys”
“Life On Mars?”
“All The Young Dudes”
“Sound And Vision”
“Always Crashing In The Same Car”
“Valentine’s Day”


The production is directed by Ivo van Hove and co-written by Bowie and Enda Walsh.

The New York Times called Lazarus “great-sounding, great-looking and mind-numbing” while Rolling Stone described it as a “surrealistic tour de force”.

Lazarus runs until January 20.

Meanwhile, inside the new Uncut you’ll find a first, forensic review of one of Bowie’s most audacious albums to date, plus a revelatory piece on the making of the album from Donny McCaslin, the jazz saxophonist who has taken on the role of Bowie’s key collaborator for the project.

The January 2016 issue of Uncut is now on sale in the UK – featuring Paul Weller, David Bowie, Best Of 2015, Roger Waters, Father John Misty, Pere Ubu, Robert Forster, Natalie Prass, James Brown, Bruce Springsteen, Sunn O))), Jonny Greenwood, Arthur Lee & Love, Neil Young, Janis Joplin and more.

Uncut: the spiritual home of great rock music.


Latest Issue