Coldplay named songwriters of the year at ASCAP awards

Chris Martin and co pick up another gong

Trending Now

Coldplay have been named songwriters of the year by The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers, commonly know as ASCAP, at their annual awards last night (October 13).

The band’s song ‘Viva La Vida’ was also given the Song Of The Year award at the London ceremony at the Grosvenor House hotel.

Taio Cruz won the Vanguard Award For Departure and Scouting For Girls picked up the College Award for their song ‘Everybody Wants To Be On TV’, reports BBC News.

Coldplay did not attend the event as they are working on a new album with producer Brian Eno.

See for a full list of winners.

Latest music and film news on

Bookmark and ShareUncut have teamed up with Sonic Editions to curate a number of limited-edition framed iconic rock photographs, featuring the likes of Pink Floyd, Bob Dylan and The Clash. View the full collection here.


Latest Issue