Brian Eno shares 21-minute-long new song, “The Ship”

It's the title track from his forthcoming album

Trending Now

An Audience With Andrew Weatherall

By way of tribute to Andrew Weatherall, whose death was confirmed earlier today, I thought I’d post my interview...

Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever on their new album: “It’s weirder… it feels exciting”

In our recent 2020 album preview, Fran Keaney, singer and acoustic guitarist in Melbourne's Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever, told...

The 3rd Uncut New Music Playlist of 2020

The return of Jason Isbell and Lucinda Williams, plus King Krule, Hailu Mergia and Jon Hopkins

Brian Eno has released a preview of his upcoming album, The Ship.

The 21-minute clip is the full title track from his first solo album since 2012’s Lux. Eno’s disembodied vocals can be heard over the quivering synths, marking the first time he has sung on a solo album since 2005’s Another Day On Earth.


Eno said in a statement: “The piece started as an Ambient work intended for a multichannel sound installation in Stockholm, but during the making of it I discovered that I could now sing a low C – which happens to be the root note of the piece. Getting older does have a few fringe benefits after all.

“From that point the work turned into an unusual kind of song… a type I’ve never made before where the vocals floats free, untethered to a rhythmic grid of any kind.”

Also on the album is a cover of Velvet Underground’s ‘I’m Set Free‘, written by Lou Reed and which, according to Eno: “seems more relevant now that it did then.”

The Ship will be available to buy from April 21.

The May 2016 issue of Uncut is now on sale in the UK – featuring our cover story on PJ Harvey’s new album, Brian Wilson, The National’s all-star Grateful Dead tribute, Jack White and T Bone Burnett’s American Epic, Cate Le Bon, Donovan, Jean-Michel Jarre, Cheap Trick, Graham Nash, Heartworn Highways, Sturgill Simpson and more plus 40 pages of reviews and our free 15-track CD

Uncut: the spiritual home of great rock music.


Latest Issue

Robert Plant, Karen Dalton, Elton John, Stephen Malkmus, Maria McKee, Shabaka Hutchings and Iggy & Bowie – plus a free 15-track CD