Arctic Monkeys’ Turner Nominated For Mercury Prize For Third Time

Plus Radiohead, Elbow and Plant and Krauss make the 2008 shortlist

Trending Now

Arctic Monkey‘s Alex Turner has been nominated for his third Nationwide Mercury Prize, for his Last Shadow Puppets collaboration with The RascalsMiles Kane.

Turner and the Monkeys have been shortlisted for the past two years, an unprecedented feat, winning the prize for their debut ‘Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not’ in 2006.

The Nationwide Mercury Prize shortlist announcement today (July 22) also includes Radiohead for their first post-EMI release In Rainbows, Elbow‘s second nomination with The Seldom Seen Kid and Robert Plant and Alison Krauss’ bluegrass collaboration Raising Sand.


The 12 albums shortlisted for this year’s Nationwide Mercury Music Prize are below. The prize will be decided at a ceremony hosted by Jools Holland and Lauren Laverne on September 9, 2008.

Last year’s prize winners were the Klaxons for their debut Myths of the Near Future. Past winners include Franz Ferdinand, Dizzee Rascal, PJ Harvey and Talvin Singh.

The albums, chosen from a long list of 240 albums released


in the last 12 months, by a music industry panel, are:

Adele – 19

British Sea Power – Do You Like Rock Music?

Burial – Untrue

Elbow – The Seldom Seen Kid

Estelle – Shine

Laura Marling – Alas I Cannot Swim

Neon Neon – Stainless Style

Portico Quartet Knee – Deep In The North Sea

Rachel Unthank & The Winterset – The Bairns

Radiohead – In Rainbows

Robert Plant & Alison Krauss – Raising Sand

The Last Shadow Puppets – The Age Of The Understatement

For Uncut’s verdict, check our Wild Mercury Sound blog.


Latest Issue