Animal Collective announce new album Time Skiffs, share lead single “Prester John”

They've also announced a US tour

Trending Now

Animal Collective have shared details of their forthcoming album, Time Skiffs, and shared its lead single, “Prester John”.

Time Skiffs follows the band’s last record, 2016’s Painting With, and will mark their 11th studio album to date. It’s released on February 4 via Domino (pre-order here).

Its first song “Prester John”, released yesterday (October 20), was written by fusing two songs together: one written by band member Avey Tare and the other by fellow bandmate Panda Bear.


A press release about the album states: “These nine songs are love letters, distress signals, en plein air observations, and relaxation hymns, the collected transmissions of four people who have grown into relationships and parenthood and adult worry. But they are rendered with Animal Collective’s singular sense of exploratory wonder, same as they ever were.”

A limited edition 2xLP on starburst ruby and black vinyl is currently available in the pre-orders.

Time Skiffs track list:

1. “Dragon Slayer”
2. “Car Keys”
3. “Prester John”
4. “Strung With Everything”
5. “Walker”
6. “Cherokee”
7. “Passer-by”
8. “We Go Back”
9. “Royal And Desire”

The group will also head out on a US tour next in promotion of the new album. Tickets go on sale this Friday (October 22) from here.

Animal Collective. Credit: Hisham Bharoocha

Animal Collective US tour 2022:

08 – Richmond, VA @ The National
09 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer
11 – North Adams, MA @ Mass MOCA Hunter Center
12 – Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel
13 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club
15 – Boston, MA @ Paradise Rock Club
16 – Sayreville, NJ @ Starland Ballroom
18 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Mr. Smalls Theatre
19 – Detroit, MI @ Majestic Theatre
20 – Chicago, IL @ Vic Theatre
21 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue
23 – Columbus, OH @ Newport Music Hall
24 – Nashville, TN @ Marathon Music Works
24-27 – Knoxville, TN @ Big Ears Festival
26 – Atlanta, GA @ The Eastern

Animal Collective have shared three EPs since the release of their last album: The Painters and Meeting Of The Waters from 2017, and Bridge To Quiet, which arrived in 2020.

Originally published on NME

Latest Issue