Allen Toussaint’s final album set for release

American Tunes will be released in June

Trending Now

Allen Toussaint‘s final studio recordings are being released on a new album, American Tunes.

The album will be released by Nonesuch on June 10, 2016.

The album features solo and band performances, with works by Toussaint, Professor Longhair, Duke Ellington, Fats Waller and Paul Simon.


American Tunes has been produced by Joe Henry.

The album sessions began with solo piano recordings at Toussaint’s New Orleans home studio in 2013, and later with the rhythm section of Jay Bellerose and David Piltch – joined by guests Bill Frisell, Charles Lloyd, Greg Leisz, Rhiannon Giddens and Van Dyke Parks – in Los Angeles in October 2015.

Joe Henry first worked with Toussaint when he invited the pianist to join the sessions for I Believe To My Soul. Henry subsequently acted as producer on Toussaint’s post-Katrina collaboration with Elvis Costello, The River In Reverse.


Henry describes the most recent sessions: “I have been working with Allen Toussaint – under his spell and subject to his influence – for a full decade now. He was a quiet radical, musically-speaking, and a prince of great humility.”

American Tunes is available to pre-order now at iTunes and, with the track “Big Chief” as an instant download; pre-orders come with a limited-edition print.

A two-LP vinyl version, also available June 10, includes three bonus tracks.

The tracklising for American Tunes is:

1. Delores’ Boyfriend
By Allen Toussaint

2. Viper’s Drag
Thomas “Fats” Waller

3. Confessin’ (That I Love You)
Doc Daugherty, Ellis Reynolds & Al Neiburg

4. Mardi Gras In New Orleans
Henry Roeland “Roy” Byrd (Professor Longhair)

5. Lotus Blossom
Billy Strayhorn

6. Waltz For Debby
Bill Evans

7. Big Chief
Earl King

8. Rocks In My Bed
Duke Ellington

9. Danza, op. 33
Louis Moreau Gottschalk

10. Hey Little Girl
Henry Roeland “Roy” Byrd

11. Rosetta
Earl “Fatha” Hines

12. Come Sunday
Duke Ellington

13. Southern Nights
Allen Toussaint

14. American Tune
Paul Simon

Vinyl LP bonus tracks:

15. Her Mind Is Gone
Henry Roeland “Roy” Byrd

16. Moon River
Henry Mancini & Johnny Mercer

17. Bald Head
Henry Roeland “Roy” Byrd

The May 2016 issue of Uncut is now on sale in the UK – featuring our cover story on PJ Harvey’s new album, Brian Wilson, The National’s all-star Grateful Dead tribute, Jack White and T Bone Burnett’s American Epic, Cate Le Bon, Donovan, Jean-Michel Jarre, Cheap Trick, Graham Nash, Heartworn Highways, Sturgill Simpson and more plus 40 pages of reviews and our free 15-track CD

Uncut: the spiritual home of great rock music.


Latest Issue