The Waterboys Are Back

Mike Scott in the studio and a tour imminent

Trending Now

The Waterboys are currently in the studio and a new album is in the final stages of production, Uncut has learned.

The new material is expected to be released next spring, 25 years since Mike Scott first formed The Waterboys.

Insiders say that the new songs “promise to be his finest work to date.”


To support the launch of the album The Waterboys will perform dates all across Europe, starting in Holland on March 7 2007, then going onto Ireland and Scandinavia.

The Waterboys will then play a full UK tour including a special performance at London’s Royal Albert Hall on May 11.

The Waterboys’ current line-up features Steve Wickham (violin) whose first involvement in the band dates back to 1985, Richard Naiff (keyboards), Brady Blade and Jeremy Stacey (drums), Mark Smith (bass), Leo Abrahams (guitar) and long-time Waterboys alumni Roddy Lorimer (trumpet) and Chris Bruce (guitar).


The Waterboys have signed a record deal with W14 Music – the new Universal Music Group imprint headed by MD John Williams.

Mike Scott is upbeat about the new record deal, saying: “It’s great to be back on a major label, and doubly great to be with John Williams, a true music man, and the guy who produced a few of The Waterboys’ best-ever recordings.”

Mike Scott formed The Waterboys in 1982 and has been the driving force of the group throughout its various incarnations, exploring a variety of musical styles.

Mike Scott won a prestigious Ivor Novello Award in 1991 for writing his most well-known song to date, ‘The Whole of the Moon’. 



  For more information about the new Waterboys album and forthcoming shows – Click here


Latest Issue