Patti Does Hendrix, And Dylan, And Nirvana

She says she's "at the top of her game" with new all-star covers LP

Trending Now

Iconic punk lyricist Patti Smith has revealed details about which classic songs she will cover on forthcoming album, “Twelve.”

Tracks confirmed for Smith’s tenth studio album, due out on April 16, include Neil Young’s “Helpless,” Stevie Wonder’s “Pastime Paradise,” and Tears For Fears’ anthemic “Everybody Wants To Rule The World.”

Speaking to Billboard magazine last month, Smith explained how fulfilling making the LP has been, saying “It has been a real adventure doing these songs. I’ve always wanted to do a cover record, but I didn’t think I had the range. But now, I feel really on the top of my game and ready to tackle a lot of different songs I thought had strong and relevant lyrics.”


The other artists that singer Smith has tackled on “Twelve” are Jimi Hendrix, Bob Dylan, the Doors, Jefferson Airplane, the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, the Allman Brothers, Paul Simon and Nirvana. More details about which particular songs will appear, have yet to be released.

The all-star album has multiple guest musicians, including Red Hot Chili Peppers’ bassist Flea, Television guitarist Tom Verlaine, the Black Crowes’ Rich Robinson and hip-hop producer Luis Resto on keys, who’s previously worked with Eminem.

Smith re-enlists the banjo-playing skills of playwright Sam Shepard, whom she worked with on 1971’s “Cowboy Mouth.”


“Twelve” sees Patti Smith backed by her regular touring band – Lenny Kaye (guitar), Jay Dee Daugherty (drums) and Tony Shanahan (bass, keyboards).

Patti’s Smith’s children also get in on the act; son Jackson, and daughter, Jesse, help out with guitar and vocals too.

Patti Smith is due to be inducted into the Rock’N’Roll Hall Of Fame on March 12, along with R.E.M., Van Halen, the Ronettes, and Grandmaster Flash and the Furious Five.


Latest Issue