A new Frank Zappa collection has been confirmed

ZAPPAatite: Frank Zappa’s Tastiest Tracks has been compiled by son Ahmet

Trending Now

Tim Buckley’s Starsailor: “It was just so good in the studio”

Bandmates recount the making of his mercurial masterpiece

The 8th Uncut New Music Playlist Of 2020

It's Friday afternoon, so it's time for another of our rarer-than-intended rundowns of the finest new music that's appeared...

Michael Stipe: “I don’t have to please anyone but myself”

In Uncut's exclusive interview, he discusses new solo material and REM's legacy

Introducing the Ultimate Music Guide to Wilco

It’s been 25 years since the first Wilco album, the fiery AM, and it’s an anniversary we felt like...

ZAPPAatite: Frank Zappa’s Tastiest Tracks, a career-spanning collection of Zappa’s back-catalogue, will be released on September 23.

A prolific, eccentric, performer Zappa’s output features over 60 albums as a solo-artist and member of Mothers of Invention. 2016 marks the fiftieth anniversary of Mothers of Invention’s debut, Freak Out!

To coincide with the fiftieth anniversary of Mothers of Invention’s debut, Freak Out!, Zappa’s releases have been compressed into an 18-track primer. His son, Ahmet Zappa and archivist, Joe Travers have compiled the album. It will be split into three food-themed sections: Appetizers, Entrees and Desserts to accompany the album cover of Zappa.


“This isn’t a greatest hits album as Frank didn’t really have ‘hits,’ nor is it a ‘best of’ since that would be impossible to fit on a single disc,” said Ahmet Zappa. “ZAPPAtite collects a cross section of my favourite songs that lean more towards the rock side of his expansive repertoire.”

The tracklisting is:

1. I’m The Slime
2. Dirty Love
3. Dancin’ Foo
4. Trouble Every Day

5. Peaches En Regalia
6. Tell Me You Love Me
7. Bobby Brown Goes Down
8. You Are What You Is
9. Valley Girl
10. Joe’s Garage
11. Cosmik Debris
12. Sofa No. 1
13. Don’t Eat The Yellow Snow

14. Titties & Beer
15. G-Spot Tornado
16. Cocaine Decisions
17. Zoot Allures
18. Strictly Genteel

The October 2016 issue of Uncut is now on sale in the UK – featuring our cover story on David Bowie, plus Margo Price, Lou Reed, David Crosby, Devendra Banhart, Van Der Graaf Generator, The Turtles, The Beatles, Granny Takes A Trip, Kate Bush, Drive-By Truckers, Jack White, Ray Charles, Led Zeppelin, Wilco and more plus 32 pages of reviews and our free 15-track CD


Uncut: the spiritual home of great rock music.


Latest Issue

Peter Gabriel, Michael Stipe, The Flaming Lips, Tim Buckley, David Bowie, Archie Shepp, Jonathan Richman, Mary Chapin Carpenter and The Rolling Stones