Mark Ronson Leads All-Star Cast At Electric Proms

Opening night also sees The Coral welcome Noel Gallagher onstage

Trending Now

Record producer Mark Ronson last night staged an all-star headline show for the BBC Electric Proms’ opening night (October 24).

Backed by the BBC orchestra, Ronson opened the show with a double instrumental, including a version of Maximo Park‘s ‘Apply Some Pressure’.

Ronson, showcasing his latest album ‘Version’ – brought on several guests to perform, including singers Adele, Candie Payne and Rumblestrips front man Charlie Waller.


Kaiser Chiefs‘ Ricky Wilson came on to sing the vocals for his own band’s song ‘Oh My God’ – after Lily Allen who performs on Ronson’s cover version couldn’t make the Roundhouse as billed.

Ronson explained Allens no-show saying: “My friendly Lily was supposed to be here but she cancelled last minute. That’s cool, people have lives and stuff, so we got someone who was in town and knew all the words!”

The Specials singer Terry Hall sang his Fun Boy Three song ‘Our Lips Are Sealed’, before singer Sean Lennon joined Ronson onstage to perform The Beach Boys‘ ‘Sail On Sailor’.


The Charlatans‘ Tim Burgess and Mark Collins also appeared at the show, performing their single ‘The Only One I Know.’

Playing The Zutons‘ cover ‘Valerie’ from ‘Version’, The View‘s Kyle Falconer filled in for Amy Winehouse who is currently on tour in Europe.

Earlier in the night, support band The Coral were also joined onstage by a special guest. Oasis’ Noel Gallagher joined the scousers onstage to play guitar on their track ‘In The Rain.’

The BBC Electric Proms continues all week at venues around Camden.

More information and tickets are available from

The Electric Proms continue tonight with Paul McCartney, Justice and The Chemical Brothers all playing.

Mark Ronson’s full set list with the BBC Orchestra was:


‘Apply Some Pressure’ (instrumental)

‘Just’ (Alex Greenwald)

‘Cold Shoulder’ (Adele)

‘Oh My God’ (Ricky Wilson)

‘One More Chance’ (Candie Payne)

‘Sunny’ (Candie Payne)

‘Ooh Wee And Dance’ (Wale)

‘All I Need To Get By’ (Wale and Tawiah)

‘Back To Black’ (Charlie Waller, Rumble Strips)

‘Pretty Green’ (Santo Gold and Charlie Waller)

‘Our Lips Are Sealed’ (Terry Hall and Santo Gold)

‘Sail On Sailor’ (Sean Lennon)

‘God Put A Smile On Your Face’ (instrumental)

‘The Only One I Know’ (Tim Burgess & Mark Collins, The Charlatans)

‘Valerie’ (Kyle Falconer, The View)

‘I Kill Myself’ (Daniel Merriweather)

‘Stop Me If You’ve Heard This One Before’ (Daniel Merriweather)

‘We Can Work It Out’ (Daniel Merriweather, Sean Lennon, Talia)


Latest Issue