Hear PJ Harvey debut new songs on Radio 4

They were written for Ivo Van Hove’s stage adaptation of All About Eve

Trending Now

PJ Harvey, Tom Petty, Idles and more star in the new Uncut

In this issue, John Fogerty talks about the influence that one of his favourite bands had on Creedence Clearwater...

Toots Hibbert: “Believe in what you believe in”

The Maytals frontman has passed away, aged 77. Here's one of his last interviews

Introducing the Ultimate Music Guide to the Grateful Dead

Meeting your heroes can be disappointing. As you’ll read in our new Ultimate Music Guide, when Melody Maker’s Steve...

The 10th Uncut New Music Playlist Of 2020

William Tyler, New Order, Todd Rundgren, Gwenifer Raymond and much more

Yesterday’s edition of BBC Radio 4’s Behind The Scenes followed PJ Harvey as she composed and recorded a score for Ivo Van Hove’s stage adaptation of All About Eve.

The score includes two new PJ Harvey songs, sung in the play by actors Gillian Anderson and Lily James. Hear a clip of one, “The Moth”, below:



Says Harvey in the programme: “The play resonated with me immediately because Margo, the lead character, is an ageing actress who’s at that point where she’s feeling uncomfortable on stage. As a female performer I understand those feelings”.

Discussing her decision to take a break from the album/touring schedule to write the score, she says: “You also weigh it up with ‘OK, I’ve done this half my life, do I want to continue this way? Or do I maybe want to try something different?’… I think you can never lay hard lines down like that, I think you just have to go with the moment, and right now I have enormous pleasure writing scores for theatre”.

Listen to the whole episode of Radio 4’s Behind The Scenes: PJ Harvey on BBC Sounds here. All About Eve is currently showing at London’s Noël Coward theatre.

The March 2019 issue of Uncut is now on sale in the UK – with Leonard Cohen on the cover. Inside, you’ll find David Bowie, Bob Marley, The Yardbirds, Lambchop, Jessica Pratt, Crass, Neu!, Sean Ono Lennon and much more. Our 15-track CD also showcases the best of the month’s new music, including Cass McCombs, Sleaford Mods, Julia Jacklin and Royal Trux.


Latest Issue

PJ Harvey, Tom Petty, Idles, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Matt Berninger, Steel Pulse, Hüsker Dü, Laura Veirs, Chris Hillman and Isaac Hayes