Grandaddy announce Under The Western Freeway vinyl reissue

And share an unreleased demo, "Hawaiian Island Wranglers"

Trending Now

The 1st Uncut Playlist Of 2021

I hope you've had a chance to pick up our first issue of 2021 - Leonard Cohen, The Clash,...

Leonard Cohen, The Clash, Sonny Rollins and more in the new Uncut

Occasionally, in the years since his death, I’ve found myself idly speculating on what Leonard Cohen would have made...

Introducing the Ultimate Music Guide to Marc Bolan and T.Rex

With an exclusive foreword by Tony Visconti

Ways to keep reading Uncut during lockdown

Even if you can't leave the house, there's no need to miss an issue

Grandaddy have announced details of the 20th Anniversary edition of their debut album, Under The Western Freeway.

Released on October 21 by Friendship Fever, the deluxe vinyl reissue comes with a separate LP featuring eight previously-unreleased tracks and demos.

The package also features a booklet of photos, flyers, and liner notes from Super Furry Animals’ Gruff Rhys.


Meanwhile, the first 250 orders will receive an exclusive bonus cassette titled Practice 97 – which features eight unreleased recordings from a 1997 Grandaddy band practice).

Here’s “Hawaiian Island Wranglers“, one of the reissue’s previously-unreleased tracks:

Under The Western Freeway (20th Anniversary Edition) track list:

LP 1: Under The Western Freeway
Nonphenomenal Lineage
A.M. 180
Collective Dreamwish of Upperclass Elegance
Summer Here Kids
Laughing Stock
Under the Western Freeway
Everything Beautiful Is Far Away
Poisoned at Hartsy Thai Food
Go Progress Chrome
Why Took Your Advice
Lawn & So On

LP 2: Unreleased 1997 demos
Hawaiian Island Wranglers
For the Dishwasher (Slow Demo)
Dying Brains (Early Demo)
Summer Here Kids (Early Demo)
Le symphonique d’HeeHaw
Street Bunny (Fluffy Distortion Demo)
Bjork ELO Xanadu and The Birth of Chartsengrafs
Laughing Stock (Revelation Demo)

Grandaddy: Practice ’97
I’m Not Alright
Summer Here Kids
I’m In Love WIth No One
Everything Beautiful is Far Away
Street Bunny
Lawn & So On


The October 2017 issue of Uncut is now on sale in the UK – featuring Jack White on the cover. Elsewhere in the issue, there are new interviews with Van Morrison, The National, The Dream Syndicate, Steve Winwood, Tony Visconti, The The, The Doors and Sparks. We review LCD Soundsystem, The Style Council, Chris Hillman, Hiss Golden Messenger and Frank Zappa. Our free CD features 15 tracks of the month’s best music, including Lee Renaldo, Mogwai, Wand, Chris Hillman, The Dream Syndicate, Hiss Golden Messenger and more.


Latest Issue

Leonard Cohen, The Clash, Sonny Rollins, Jane Weaver, Kraftwerk, The Black Keys, Warren Zevon, Alice Cooper, Bootsy Collins and Courtney Marie Andrews