Glenn Frey box set due for release in May

Above The Clouds collects his pre- and post-Eagles material

Trending Now

May 11 will see the release of Above The Clouds: The Collection, a four-disc box set of solo material by the late Eagles frontman Glenn Frey.

CD1 (also available separately) collates his greatest hits, including 80s pop-rock staples “The Heat Is On” and “Smuggler’s Blues”. CD2 delves deeper into his post-Eagles solo career, while CD3 features the 1969 self-titled album by Longbranch/Pennywhistle, the duo comprising Frey and future Eagles songwriter JD Souther.

The fourth disc is a DVD of Frey’s performance at the National Stadium in Dublin from July 1992, which includes his renditions of Eagles songs “Peaceful Easy Feeling” and “Desperado”.


The full tracklisting is as follows:

Disc 1
1. The Heat Is On
2. Call on Me (Theme from “South of Sunset”)
3. Part of Me, Part of You
4. You Belong to the City
5. Smuggler’s Blues
6. Sexy Girl
7. The Allnighter
8. Soul Searchin’
9. Same Girl
10. The One You Love
11. Strange Weather
12. I’ve Got Mine
13. River of Dreams
14. Love in the 21st Century
15. Lyin’ Eyes / Take It Easy (Medley – Live at The Stadium: Dublin, Ireland)

Disc 2
1. Let’s Go Home
2. I Got Love
3. The Way to Happiness
4. Common Ground
5. After Hours
6. Rising Sun (Instrumental)
7. The Shadow of Your Smile
8. Better in the U.S.A
9. Brave New World
10. Caroline, No
11. For Sentimental Reasons
12. It’s Too Soon to Know
13. Worried Mind
14. Lover’s Moon
15. Route 66
16. True Love


Disc 3
Longbranch/Pennywhistle (1969)

1. Jubilee Anne
2. Run, Boy, Run
3. Rebecca
4. Lucky Love
5. Kite Woman
6. Bring Back Funky Women
7. Star-Spangled Bus
8. Mister, Mister
9. Don’t Talk Now
10. Never Have Enough

Disc 4
DVD – Strange Weather: Live in Dublin

1. Long Hot Summer
2. Peaceful Easy Feeling
3. New Kid in Town
4. The One You Love
5. Strange Weather
6. I’ve Got Mine
7. Medley: Lyin’ Eyes / Take It Easy
8. Wild Mountain Theme
9. River of Dreams
10. True Love
11. Love in the 21st Century
12. Livin’ Right
13. Smuggler’s Blues
14. The Heat Is On
15. Heartache Tonight
16. Party Town
17. Desperado

You can pre-order Glenn Frey’s Above the Clouds: The Collection here.

Like us on Facebook to keep up to date with news from Uncut.

The May 2018 issue of Uncut is now on sale in the UK – with Johnny Marr on the cover. Elsewhere in the issue, you’ll find exclusive new interviews with John Fogerty, Dan Auerbach, Shirley Collins, Unknown Mortal Orchestra, John Prine and many more. Our free 15-track CD features 15 tracks of this month’s best new music, featuring Kacy & Clayton, Laura Veirs, Wye Oak, Cath & Phil Taylor, Mouse On Mars, Josh T. Pearson, A Place To Bury Strangers and Drinks.


Latest Issue