Depeche Mode’s Vince Clarke and Martin Gore announce new album details

VCMC release 'Ssss' on March 12.

Trending Now

Fugazi’s Ian MacKaye: “We decided we were going to start a new scene”

The new issue of Uncut revisits the birth of post-hardcore in Washington DC

Mogwai: Album By Album

Founded in 1995 and initially a trio, Glasgow’s Mogwai made their debut with “Tuner/Lower”, a self-pressed seven-inch in thrall...

Pete Townshend looks back at The Who in 1967: “I don’t think I was angry”

Smashing guitars, hanging out with Small Faces and keeping Keith Moon onside

Introducing the Deluxe Ultimate Music Guide to Bob Marley

In-depths reviews and archive encounters with the reggae legend

VCMC release ‘Ssss’ on March 12.

Vince Clarke and Martin Gore of the original Depeche Mode line-up have announced details of their collaborative album ‘Ssss’.

Set for release on March 12 through Mute, the 10-track album sees the duo working together for the first time in over 30 years. Gore is still a member of Depeche Mode – current line-up pictured above – but Vince Clarke left the band after the release of their 1981 album ‘Speak & Spell’, before going on to make music with Erasure and Yazoo.

The album, which is being attributed to VCMG, was made with both men working separately from their own studios and developing tracks via email. ‘Ssss’ was written and produced by Clarke and Gore.

Last summer, Gore told Billboard that the project “was something different, and we didn’t have conversations about it. It was more just like emails and filesharing. It was something completely different no vocals, all instrumental stuff.”

The ‘Ssss’ tracklisting is:

‘Windup Robot’
‘Bendy Bass’
‘Single Blip’
‘Skip This Track’


Latest Issue

The Who, New York Dolls, Fugazi, Peggy Seeger, Scritti Politti, Bob Dylan, Marvin Gaye, Serge Gainsbourg, Israel Nash and Valerie June