Damon Albarn and Gorillaz Co-creator To Release Opera LP

Hewlett helps adapt theatre show for new album

Trending Now

Introducing the new Uncut… Bob Dylan at 80 and our free 15-track Dylan CD!

Welcome to a very special issue of Uncut, as we celebrate Bob Dylan’s 80th birthday. As you might imagine,...

Introducing Uncut’s amazing Bob Dylan covers CD

Featuring 14 brand new versions of Dylan songs by The Flaming Lips, Cowboy Junkies, The Weather Station and more - plus one previously unreleased Dylan track

Introducing the Deluxe Ultimate Music Guide to Neil Young

Updated with a deep dive into Archives II and more

Prince’s “lost” album Welcome 2 America is finally getting released

The Prince Estate have announced details of a new release. Dating from 2010, Welcome 2 America is finally due for...

George Martin’s ‘Ray Cathode’ tracks to be reissued

Two electronic instrumental tracks from George Martin dating from the early Sixties are being reissued. A collaboration with BBC Radiophonic...

Damon Albarn and Jamie Hewlett, the pair who created Gorillaz have cofirmed that they are to release a new album this Summer.

Albarn and Hewlett have adapted their compositions from the theatre show ‘Monkey: Journey To The West’ which debuted last year at Manchester Opera House for an album entitled ‘Monkey.’

The show has now come to London, and opened at the Royal Opera House last night (July 23).

Monkey’s full tracklisting is:

‘Monkey’s World’
‘Monkey Travels’
‘Into The Eastern Sea’
‘The Living Sea’
‘The Dragon King’
‘Iron Rod’
‘Out Of The Eastern Sea’
‘Heavenly Peach Banquet’
‘Battle In Heaven’
‘O Mi To Fu’
‘Tripitaka’s Curse’
‘Confessions Of A Pig’
‘Sandy The River Demon’
‘March Of The Volunteers’
‘The White Skeleton Demon’
‘Monk’s Song’
‘I Love Buddha’
‘March Of The Iron Army’
‘Pigsy In Space’
‘Monkey Bee’
‘Disappearing Volcano’

Pic credit: PA Photos


Latest Issue