Animal Collective unveil new audiovisual album, Tangerine Reef

Collaboration with art-science duo Coral Morphologic to be released on August 17

Trending Now

Animal Collective have announced details of a new audiovisual album, Tangerine Reef, created in collaboration with art-science duo Coral Morphologic, who specialise in underwater videography.

Tangerine Reef will be released on August 17 on traditional CD and 2xLP formats, but also as a film available on the band’s website.

Get Uncut delivered to your door – find out by clicking here!


According to the press release, “Tangerine Reef is a visual tone poem consisting of time-lapse and slow pans across surreal aquascapes of naturally fluorescent coral and cameos by alien-like reef creatures”.

Watch a trailer for Tangerine Reef below, and also check out the artwork and tracklisting:

1. Hair Cutter
2. Buffalo Tomato
3. Inspector Gadget
4. Buxom
5. Coral Understanding
6. Airpipe (To A New Transition)
7. Jake And Me
8. Coral By Numbers
9. Hip Sponge
10. Coral Realization
11. Lundsten Coral
12. Palythoa
13. Best Of Times (Worst Of All)


Apple Music subscribers can watch a video for the track “Hair Cutter” here. Pre-order Tangerine Reef, including a limited edition green vinyl version, here.

The August 2018 issue of Uncut is now on sale in the UK – with Prince on the cover. Elsewhere in the issue, you’ll find exclusive features on John Coltrane, Graham Nash, Cowboy Junkies, Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever, Hawkwind, Jennifer Warnes, Teenage Fanclub, David Sylvian, Wilko Johnson and many more. Our free CD showcases 15 tracks of this month’s best new music, including Israel Nash, Dirty Projectors, Luluc, Ty Segall and White Fence, Nathan Salsburg and Gwenifer Raymond.


Latest Issue