Yoko Ono to release new album in September

Yoko Ono to release new album in September

Yoko Ono is to release her new album, Take Me To The Land Of Hell, in September.

It is her first album since Between My Head And The Sky, four years ago.

The album features contributions from Wilco guitarist Nels Cline and Roots' drummer QuestLove alongside remixes by Beastie Boys Mike D and Ad-Rock. It has been produced by Ono with Sean Lennon and Yuka Honda.

The album, which is released on the Chimera label, comes shortly after the Meltdown Festival, on London's Southbank, which she curated. Ono is also the subject of art retrospectives opening at Kunsthalle Krems in Austria in October and at MOCA in Sydney.

Of Take Me To The Land Of Hell , Ono said, “My new album comes at a very special time for me. I’m so happy that it’s being released after all the incredible shows that made up Meltdown. The energy I have right now, and the desire to continue to make as much great work as I can, is really moving me forwards all the time. This album is the culmination of a lot of ideas I’ve been having over the last few years and I feel proud to release it at such an exciting time of my life”.

Visit our new, dedicated features section, with plenty of our best long pieces archived there. You can find it here.

Uncut is now available as a digital edition! Download here on your iPad/iPhone and here on your Kindle Fire or Nook.


Editor's Letter

The Father, The Sun And The Holy Ghost… An interview with Hiss Golden Messenger

One bright Sunday morning, MC Taylor is driving through his patch of North Carolina, past New Hope Creek and the Eno River, over the Chatham County Line and the James Taylor Bridge in Chapel Hill, near the Haw River and the valley that he has meditated upon in song these past few years. Through...