The Return Of The Mighty Stooges

The Return Of The Mighty Stooges

Iggy Pop and the Stooges have just completed work on their first new studio album since 1973’s David Bowie-produced “Raw Power.”

The new album is due for release in March, after mastering at London’s Abbey Road Studios.

As previously reported on, The Stooges are now joined by The Minutemen’s bassist Mike Watt who replaces Dave Alexander.

The 16-track album recorded with Steve Albini at Electrical Audio Studios in Chicago includes a vocal contribution from Brendan Benson on “Free And Freaky”.

Other song titles for the new material include "Trollin',” "ATM," "You Can't Have Friends," "My Idea of Fun," "The Weirdness" and "Greedy Awful People."

Iggy Pop, speaking to, confesses that being back with the Asheton brothers did prove difficult at times.

He said, "Some of it is exciting and some of it is scary, and I don't care to go over there. But at the end of the day, I know these guys. I don't know anybody else quite that way, “ he concluded.

Iggy and The Stooges are headlining the UK Nightmare Before Christmas festival at Minehead on December 8.

They also plan to tour in the Spring around the time of the record’s release.

A show on March 17 is already lined up at the South By Southwest festival in Austin, Texas.

For Mike Watt’s perspective in making the new Stooges record – Click here


Editor's Letter

The Fourth Uncut Playlist Of 2015

This week's big distraction has been what appears to be a crazy number of early Aphex Twin tracks accumulating on Soundcloud (I've added the link below). Among the new stuff, though, please try Bop English; the new solo project of James Petralli from White Denim.