The Kinks confirm tracklisting for Muswell Hillbillies deluxe edition

The Kinks confirm tracklisting for Muswell Hillbillies deluxe edition

The Kinks have confirmed the tracklisting for the forthcoming deluxe reissue of their 1971 Muswell Hillbillies album.

The new 2-CD edition - which is released on October 7 through Universal - features five previously unreleased tracks, including "Lavender Lane" and early demo "Nobody’s Fool", as well as alternative song versions and BBC sessions. All have been re-mastered from original tapes.

Meanwhile, a new book by Ray Davies - Americana: The Kinks, The Road And The Perfect Riff - is published by Virgin Books this autumn.

Full Tracklisting for Muswell Hillbillies:

Disc One
‘20th Century Man’
‘Acute Schizophrenia Paranoia Blues’
‘Skin And Bone’
‘Complicated Life’
‘Here Come The People In Gray’
‘Have A Cuppa Tea’
‘Holloway Jail’
‘Oklahoma U.S.A.’
‘Uncle Son’
‘Muswell Hillbilly’

Disc Two
‘Lavender Lane’ (unreleased)
‘Mountain Woman’ (unreleased)
‘Have A Cuppa Tea’ (Alternate version)
‘Muswell Hillbilly’ (1976 remix)
‘Uncle Son’ (Alternate version)
‘Kentucky Moon’ (unreleased)
‘Nobody’s Fool’ (demo - unreleased track)
‘20th Century Man’ (alternate instrumental take)
‘20th Century Man’ (1976 remix)
‘Queenie’ (unreleased)
‘Acute Schizophrenia Paranoia Blues’ (BBC Peel Session)
‘Holiday’ (BBC Peel Session)
‘Skin And Bone’ (BBC Peel Session)

Visit our dedicated features section, with plenty of our best long pieces archived there. You can find it here.

Uncut is now available as a digital edition! Download here on your iPad/iPhone and here on your Kindle Fire or Nook.


Editor's Letter

Steve Gunn, "Way Out Weather"/Nathan Bowles, "Nansemond"

How does a questing psychedelic guitarist transform themselves into a classic singer-songwriter? By compromising, in many cases. Steve Gunn, however, is managing the transition with uncanny elegance. Maybe you've already heard the latest album from this languidly prolific Brooklyn guitarist: it'...