T Bone Burnett unveils Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes

T Bone Burnett unveils Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes

T Bone Burnett has unveiled details about his forthcoming Basement Tapes project.

Called Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes, the album will be released later this year by Electromagnetic Recordings/Island Records/Harvest Records, and will feature artists including Elvis Costello, Rhiannon Giddens (Carolina Chocolate Drops), Dawes' Taylor Goldsmith, Jim James and Marcus Mumford. The have created music for two-dozen recently discovered lyrics written by Bob Dylan in 1967 during the period he was working on The Basement Tapes.

The album will be accompanied by a documentary titled, Lost Songs: The Basement Tapes Continued, directed by Sam Jones who made the Wilco documentary, I Am Trying To Break Your Heart.

“Great music is best created when a community of artists gets together for the common good," said Burnett. "There is a deep well of generosity and support in the room at all times, and that reflects the tremendous generosity shown by Bob in sharing these lyrics with us."

You can read an interview with T Bone Burnett hereVisit our new, dedicated features section, with plenty of our best long pieces archived there. You can find it here.

Uncut is now available as a digital edition! Download here on your iPad/iPhone and here on your Kindle Fire or Nook.


Editor's Letter

Introducing… Elvis Costello: The Ultimate Music Guide

In June 1977, Allan Jones of the Melody Maker took a familiar route to the offices of Stiff Records in West London. His appointment, that day, was with a notably irascible young singer-songwriter from Hounslow. In the course of a frequently startling interview, the man who had chosen to call...