Sharon Van Etten announces release date for new album

Sharon Van Etten announces release date for new album

Sharon Van Etten is set to release her new album, Are We There?, on May 26.

She will support the release of the follow up to 2012's Tramp with a one-off UK show at London's KOKO on June 5, and will play Green Man Festival in August. Scroll down for the Are We There? tracklisting.

The album is self-produced with guests turns from Shearwater's Jonathan Myberg and Adam Granduciel and Dave Hartley from The War on Drugs.

“Most of the songs are a lot more soul-oriented and beat-driven, with more organ sounds and bass, and less guitars," Van Etten told Uncut. "They’re mostly about being in a transitional point in my life, settling down and growing up, and deciding to make music and make New York my home. I’m really proud of the songs. It’s the first time I’ve really been at the helm. It’s different, but it’s still me.”

The Are We There tracklisting is:

'Afraid Of Nothing'
'Taking Chances'
'Your Love Is Killing Me'
'Our Love'
'I Love You But I'm Lost'
'You Know Me Well'
'Break Me'
'Nothing Will Change'
'I Know'
'Every Time the Sun Comes Up'

Visit our dedicated features section, with plenty of our best long pieces archived there. You can find it here.

Uncut is now available as a digital edition! Download here on your iPad/iPhone and here on your Kindle Fire or Nook.


Editor's Letter

Robert Wyatt interviewed: "I'm not a born rebel..."

Today (January 28, 2015), social media reliably informs me that Robert Wyatt is 70, which seems a reasonable justification for reposting this long and, I hope, interesting transcript of an interview I did with him at home in Louth back in 2007, a little before the marvellous “Comicopera” was...