Pete Townshend guests on new Roy Harper album

Pete Townshend guests on new Roy Harper album

Roy Harper has confirmed details of his new album, Man And Myth, which includes a guest spot from Pete Townshend.

The seven-track album is Harper's first studio album since The Green Man in 2000 and will be released by Bella Union on September 23.

The track listing for Man And Myth is:

1. The Enemy
2. Time Is Temporary
3. January Man
4. The Stranger
5. Cloud Cuckooland
6. Heaven Is Here
7. The Exile

"The Enemy", "Time Is Temporary", "The Stranger" and "Cloud Cuckooland" were recorded with Jonathan Wilson at his studio in Laurel Canyon; the remaining three were recorded in County Cork, Ireland, where Harper has lived since the late 1980s.

Pete Townshend has added lead guitar to "Cloud Cuckooland".

Other musicians who appear on Man And Myth include Jake Blanton (bass), Richard Chard (drums), Omar Valesco (clavinet and melatron) and Jason Crosby (keyboards) on "The Enemy", "Time Is Temporary", "The Stranger" and "Cloud Cuckooland".

On "The Stranger", "Heaven Is Here" and "The Exile", Harper is joined by John Fitzgerald (bouzouki, engineering), Tony Franklin (bass), Bill Shanley (guitar) and Neil Morgan (percussion).

Meanwhile, in addition to two festival shows in August, Roy Harper will tour the UK in October:

Saturday 17 August – ESCOT PARK – Beautiful Days Festival
Sunday 18 August - GLANUSK – Green Man Festival

Tuesday 22 October – LONDON – Royal Festival Hall
Friday 25 October – MANCHESTER – Bridgewater Hall
Sunday 27 October – BRISTOL – Colston Hall

Visit our new, dedicated features section, with plenty of our best long pieces archived there. You can find it here.

Uncut is now available as a digital edition! Download here on your iPad/iPhone and here on your Kindle Fire or Nook.


Editor's Letter

D'Angelo's "Black Messiah": some first thoughts

When Thom Yorke sneaked out his new solo album a few months back, I managed to hold out for 66 hours before writing a review of "Tomorrow's Modern Boxes". Since waking up...