Robert Plant reveals new album details + tour dates

Robert Plant reveals new album details + tour dates

Robert Plant has confirmed details of his new album, lullaby and... The Ceaseless Roar.

The album — which has been recorded with The Sensational Space Shifters — will be released on September 9 on Nonesuch / Warner Bros. Records.

The album features 11 new recordings, nine of which are original songs written by Plant with the band — Justin Adams: bendirs, djembe, guitars, tehardant, background vocals; John Baggott: keyboards, loops, moog bass, piano, tabal, background vocals; Juldeh Camara: kologo, ritti, Fulani vocals; Billy Fuller: bass, drum programming, omnichord, upright bass; Dave Smith: drum set; and Liam “Skin” Tyson: banjo, guitar, background vocals.

The album is available to pre-order from Plant's website with an instant download of the track, "Rainbow".

lullaby and… The Ceaseless Roar is Plant’s first record since 2010’s Band Of Joy.

“It’s really a celebratory record, powerful, gritty, African, Trance meets Zep,” Plant says. “The whole impetus of my life as a singer has to be driven by a good brotherhood. I am very lucky to work with The Sensational Space Shifters. They come from exciting areas of contemporary music…I have been around awhile and I ask myself, do I have anything to say? Is there a song still inside me? In my heart? I see life and what’s happening to me. Along the trail there are expectations, disappointments, happiness, questions and strong relationships,” Plant explains, “... and now I’m able to express my feelings through melody, power and trance; together in a kaleidescope of sound, colour, and friendship.”

You can read our review of Plant's recent Paris show here, where they played two tracks from the new album.

The track listing for lullaby and... The Ceaseless Roar is:

1. Little Maggie
2. Rainbow
3. Pocketful of Golden
4. Embrace Another Fall
5. Turn It Up
6. A Stolen Kiss
7. Somebody There
8. Poor Howard
9. House of Love
10. Up on the Hollow Hill (Understanding Arthur)
11. Arbaden (Maggie's Babby)

Robert Plant And The Sensational Space Shifters will play:

Newport Centre (November 9)
Bournemouth O2 Academy (10)
Hull City Hall (14)
Glasgow O2 Academy (15)
Leeds O2 Academy (17)
Newcastle O2 Academy (18)
Cambridge O2 Academy (20)
Wolverhampton City Hall (21)
Belfast Ulster Hall (21)
Dublin Olympia (24)
Blackpool Tower (26)
Llandudno Venue Cymru Arena (27)

Visit our dedicated features section, with plenty of our best long pieces archived there. You can find it here.

Uncut is now available as a digital edition! Download here on your iPad/iPhone and here on your Kindle Fire or Nook.


Editor's Letter

The Fourth Uncut Playlist Of 2015

This week's big distraction has been what appears to be a crazy number of early Aphex Twin tracks accumulating on Soundcloud (I've added the link below). Among the new stuff, though, please try Bop English; the new solo project of James Petralli from White Denim.