Rare Bob Dylan recordings to appear on Michael Bloomfield box set

Rare Bob Dylan recordings to appear on Michael Bloomfield box set

Michael Bloomfield is the subject of a career-spanning 3CD/1DVD box set anthology due for release in February.

Produced and curated by Al Kooper - who played with Mike Bloomfield on Bob Dylan's Highway 61 Revisited sessions in 1965 and the Super Session album in 1968 - From His Head To His Heart To His Hands contains a wealth of previously unreleased tracks - including Bloomfield's first demos for John Hammond 1964 and his final public performance, climaxing with a track from the 1980 Bob Dylan concert in San Francisco - alongside essential key recordings, both live and studio.

The anthology collates solo material, work with ensembles including the Paul Butterfield Blues Band and the Electric Flag, tracks with Muddy Waters and Janis Joplin, "Highway 61" band outtakes and more.

The box set, which is released via Legacy Recordings, the catalog division of Sony Music Entertainment, also contains Sweet Blues: A Film about Michael Bloomfield. Directed by Bob Sarles, the documentary combines vintage audio interviews and live performance footage of Bloomfield with newly lensed reflections on the artist from the guitarist's friends and fellow musicians.

The tracklisting for From His Head To His Heart To His Hands is:

1. I’m a Country Boy 2:45*
2. Judge, Judge 2:03*
3. Hammond’s Rag 2:09*
4. I’ve Got You in the Palm of My Hand 2:26
5. I’ve Got My Mojo Workin’ 2:36
6. Like a Rolling Stone (Instrumental) 6:35* - performed by Bob Dylan
7. Tombstone Blues (Alternate Chambers Brothers Version) 5:58* - performed by Bob Dylan
8. Michael Speaks About Paul Butterfield 0:39
9. Born in Chicago 3:05 - performed by The Paul Butterfield Blues Band
10. Blues with a Feeling 4:23 - performed by The Paul Butterfield Blues Band
11. East-West 13:12 - performed by The Paul Butterfield Blues Band
12. Killing Floor 3:51 - performed by The Electric Flag
13. Texas 4:47 - performed by The Electric Flag
14. Susie’s Shuffle (Live Jam) 3:42* - performed by The Electric Flag
15. Just a Little Something (Live) 3:22* - performed by The Electric Flag
16. Easy Rider 0:47 - performed by The Electric Flag

1. Albert’s Shuffle 6:55
2. Stop 4:17
3. His Holy Modal Majesty 7:17
4. Opening Speech (Live) 1:23
5. 59th Street Bridge Song (Feeling Groovy) (Live) Hybrid Edit 5:39*
6. Don’t Throw Your Love on Me So Strong (Live) 7:49
7. Santana Clause (Live) 4:41*
8. The Weight (Live) 4:08
9. Opening Speech (Live) 1:27
10. One Way Out (Live) 4:17
11. Her Holy Modal Highness (Live) 6:09
12. Fat Grey Cloud (Live) 4:30
13. Mary Ann (Live) 5:19
14. That’s All Right (Live) 3:42

1. I’m Glad I’m Jewish (Live) 3:15
2. Men’s Room - Spoken Word Segment from McCabe’s (Live) 0:51
3. Don’t You Lie to Me (Live) 3:09
4. Can’t Lose What You Ain’t Never Had (Live) 3:04 - performed by Muddy Waters
5. Gypsy Good Time (Live) 4:29
6. One Good Man 4:02 - performed by Janis Joplin
7. It’s About Time (Live) 5:15
8. Carmelita Skiffle (Live) 2:53
9. Darktown Strutters Ball (Live) 3:56
10. Don’t Think About It Baby 3:31
11. Jockey Blues/Old Folks Boogie (Live) 3:15
12. A-Flat Boogaloo (Live) 3:55
13. Glamour Girl (Live) 8:02*
14. Spoken Intro - Bob Dylan (Live) 2:02*
15. The Groom’s Still Waiting at the Altar (Live) 5:50* - performed by Bob Dylan
16. Hymn Time (Live Excerpt) 1:53


A Ravin’ Film. Directed by Bob Sarles. Produced and Edited by Bob Sarles and Christina Keating. Director of photography: Ted Leyhe. Producers: Ted Leyhe, Larry Milburn & Bruce Schmiechen.

*Previously Unreleased

Visit our dedicated features section, with plenty of our best long pieces archived there. You can find it here.

Uncut is now available as a digital edition! Download here on your iPad/iPhone and here on your Kindle Fire or Nook.


Editor's Letter

The Fourth Uncut Playlist Of 2015

This week's big distraction has been what appears to be a crazy number of early Aphex Twin tracks accumulating on Soundcloud (I've added the link below). Among the new stuff, though, please try Bop English; the new solo project of James Petralli from White Denim.