Paul McCartney announces latest archive releases

Paul McCartney announces latest archive releases

Wings albums Venus And Mars and At The Speed Of Sound have been confirmed as the next releases in the Paul McCartney Archive collection.

They will be released on September 22 (UK), and September 23 (US), 2014.

Both albums will be available in a variety of physical and digital formats. Starting with a 2-disc (2 CD) Standard Edition, the first CD will feature the original remastered album and the second CD will include bonus audio made up of material including demos and unreleased tracks. The 3-disc (2CD, 1DVD) Deluxe Edition will be housed in ahardback book featuring unpublished photographs, new interviews with Paul, material from Paul’s archives and expanded track-by-track information.

The deluxe version bonus DVD will be comprised of filmed material from around the time of each release, some of which has never been seen before. The albums will also be available on special gatefold vinyl editions (vinyl editions include a download card). Digitally Venus And Mars and At The Speed Of Sound will be made available as both standard and deluxe versions – including Mastered for iTunes and Hi-Res formats.


Venus & Mars

CD 1 – Remastered Album

01. Venus and Mars
02. Rock Show
03. Love In Song
04. You Gave Me The Answer
05. Magneto and Titanium Man
06. Letting Go
07. Venus and Mars – Reprise
08. Spirits Of Ancient Egypt
09. Medicine Jar
10. Call Me Back Again
11. Listen To What The Man Said
12. Treat Her Gently – Lonely Old People
13. Crossroads

CD 2 – Bonus Audio

01. Junior’s Farm
02. Sally G
03. Walking In The Park With Eloise
04. Bridge On The River Suite
05. My Carnival
06. Going To New Orleans (My Carnival)
07. Hey Diddle [Ernie Winfrey Mix]
08. Let’s Love
09. Soily [from One Hand Clapping]
10. Baby Face [from One Hand Clapping]
11. Lunch Box/Odd Sox
12. 4th Of July
13. Rock Show [Old Version]
14. Letting Go [Single Edit]

DVD – Bonus Film

01. Recording My Carnival
02. Bon Voyageur
03. Wings At Elstree
04. Venus and Mars TV Ad

At the Speed of Sound

CD 1 – Remastered Album

01. Let 'Em In
02. The Note You Never Wrote
03. She’s My Baby
04. Beware My Love
05. Wino Junko
06. Silly Love Songs
07. Cook Of The House
08. Time To Hide
09. Must Do Something About It
10. San Ferry Anne
11. Warm And Beautiful

CD 2 – Bonus Audio

01. Silly Love Songs [Demo]
02. She’s My Baby [Demo]
03. Message To Joe
04. Beware My Love [John Bonham Version]
05. Must Do Something About It [Paul’s Version]
06. Let ‘Em In [Demo]
07. Warm And Beautiful [Instrumental Demo]

DVD – Bonus Film

01. Silly Love Songs Music Video
02. Wings Over Wembley
03. Wings In Venice

Visit our dedicated features section, with plenty of our best long pieces archived there. You can find it here.

Uncut is now available as a digital edition! Download here on your iPad/iPhone and here on your Kindle Fire or Nook.


Editor's Letter

Robert Wyatt interviewed: "I'm not a born rebel..."

Today (January 28, 2015), social media reliably informs me that Robert Wyatt is 70, which seems a reasonable justification for reposting this long and, I hope, interesting transcript of an interview I did with him at home in Louth back in 2007, a little before the marvellous “Comicopera” was...