Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds announce new album 'Push The Sky Away'

Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds announce new album 'Push The Sky Away'

Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds have announced details of their new album 'Push The Sky Away' - watch a trailer for it below.

The LP will be the band's fifteenth studio album and will be released on February 19, 2013. It follows 2008's 'Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!!' and was recorded by regular Bad Seeds and Grinderman collaborator Nick Luanay at La Fabrique studios, based in a 19th century mansion in the south of France.

"I enter the studio with a handful of ideas, unformed and pupal; it's the Bad Seeds that transform them into things of wonder. Ask anyone who has seen them at work. They are unlike any other band on earth for pure, instinctive inventiveness," Nick Cave says in a statement.

"If I were to use that threadbare metaphor of albums being like children, then Push The Sky Away is the ghost-baby in the incubator and Warren [Ellis]'s loops are its tiny, trembling heart-beat," he adds.

Following Mick Harvey's departure from the Bad Seeds in January 2009 after 25 years, the current band line-up is multi-instrumentalist Warren Ellis on violin, flute, tenor guitar, synths; Martyn Casey on bass; Thomas Wydler on drums; Jim Sclavunos on percussion and Conway Savage on vocals.

The first track to be taken from 'Push The Sky Away' will be 'We No Who U R' and will be available to download from Monday (December 3).

The tracklisting for 'Push The Sky Away' is:

'We No Who U R'
'Wide Lovely Eyes'
'Water's Edge'
'Jubilee Street'
'We Real Cool'
'Finishing Jubilee Street'
'Higgs Boson Blues'
'Push The Sky Away'


Editor's Letter

Robert Wyatt interviewed: "I'm not a born rebel..."

Today (January 28, 2015), social media reliably informs me that Robert Wyatt is 70, which seems a reasonable justification for reposting this long and, I hope, interesting transcript of an interview I did with him at home in Louth back in 2007, a little before the marvellous “Comicopera” was...