Kevin Ayers Returns From Wilderness With New LP

Kevin Ayers Returns From Wilderness With New LP

Kevin Ayers is back from the wilderness after fifteen years with a brand new album. The genius songwriter/guitarist has teamed up with many of the musicians he has inspired over the years to make ‘The Unfairground’.

Ayers co-founded Soft Machine with Robert Wyatt, David Allen and Mike Rattlegate in 1966 and later flourished in his solo career working with the likes of Syd Barrett, Mike Oldfield and John Cale.

'The Unfairground' was recorded with the help of several artists, including Teenage Fanclub, Euros Child, Neutral Milk Hotel, Candie Payne and Architecture in Helsinki.

Kevin Ayers has been all around the globe, recording the album between 2006 and 2007. The bands have recorded in Arizona, Brooklyn, New York, London and Glasgow and will be ready to release the album by September 3 through Lomax Recordings.

The track listing for the album is:

Wide Awake
Cold Shoulder
Walk On Water
Friends & Strangers
Baby Come Home
Shine a Light
Run Run Run
Only Heaven Knows

Pic above are (L-R): Francis Reader (Trash Can Sinatras), Euros Childs (Gorky's Zygotic Mynci), Dave McGowan (Teenage Fanclub & Various), Norman Blake (Teenage Fanclub) & Kevin Ayers.


Editor's Letter

The Fourth Uncut Playlist Of 2015

This week's big distraction has been what appears to be a crazy number of early Aphex Twin tracks accumulating on Soundcloud (I've added the link below). Among the new stuff, though, please try Bop English; the new solo project of James Petralli from White Denim.