Elton John to release new T Bone Burnett-produced album in September

Elton John to release new T Bone Burnett-produced album in September

Elton John is to release his new album 'The Diving Board' in September this year (2013).

The 13-track record comprises of songs written in two sessions with long-time collaborative lyricist Bernie Taupin and is considered by John to be the "the most piano-oriented album of my career," reports Billboard.

Speaking to a select group of journalists at The Village Studios in LA on Friday (February 22), John revealed that the new album, produced by T Bone Burnett, is a mix of gospel, blues, jazz, brass band music and "everything I love about American music". He also said it is his "most adult album".

Collaborators on the record include bassist Raphael Saadiq, drummer Jay Bellerose, guitarist Doyle Bramhall II, and percussionist Jack Ashford, a veteran of Motown's in-house Funk Brothers band during the 1960s and early 1970s.

No exact release date has been set for Elton John's 30th studio album but it is expected to be available in September.

'The Diving Board' tracklisting is:

'Oceans Away'
'Oscar Wilde Gets Out'
'A Town Called Jubilee'
'The Ballad of Blind Tom'
'My Quicksand'
'Can't Stay Alone Tonight'
'Home Again'
'Take This Dirty Water'
'The New Fever Waltz'
'Mexican Vacation (Kids In The Candlelight)'
'Candlelit Bedroom'
'The Diving Board'

Meanwhile, Elton John is set to headline this year's Bestival alongside Snoop Dogg.


Editor's Letter

Introducing… Elvis Costello: The Ultimate Music Guide

In June 1977, Allan Jones of the Melody Maker took a familiar route to the offices of Stiff Records in West London. His appointment, that day, was with a notably irascible young singer-songwriter from Hounslow. In the course of a frequently startling interview, the man who had chosen to call...