Classic Lineup For Calexico's New Album

Classic Lineup For Calexico's New Album

Calexico have announced details of their new album, “Carried To Dust”, due for release on September 9.

Calexico co-founders Joey Burns and John Convertino have reunited with the lineup that solidified around 2003’s "Feast of Wire" (Paul Niehaus, Jacob Valenzuela, Martin Wenk, Volker Zander).

The band have also collaborated with a number of their musical brethren including Iron & Wine's Sam Beam, with whom Calexico collaborated on a 2005 EP, Tortoise bassist Doug McCombs and Pieta Brown.

It is the first full-length record the band have released since "Garden Ruin" two years ago.

Here is the tracklisting for "Carried to Dust":

'Victor Jara's Hands'
'Two Silver Trees'
'The News About William'
'Sarabande In Pencil Form'
'Writer's Minor Holiday'
'Man Made Lake'
'House of Valparaiso'
'Bend to the Road'
'El Gatillo (Trigger Revisited)'
'Fractured Air (Tornado Watch)'
'Falling From Sleeves'
'Red Blooms'
'Contention City'

Calexico are also on a massive world tour and will play the following live dates in the UK and Ireland:

Tripod Dublin (September 10)
Queens Hall Edinburgh (11)
Carling Academy Oxford (12)
Leadmill Sheffield (13)
End of the Road Festival Dorset (14)
Forum London (October 11)


Editor's Letter

The Fourth Uncut Playlist Of 2015

This week's big distraction has been what appears to be a crazy number of early Aphex Twin tracks accumulating on Soundcloud (I've added the link below). Among the new stuff, though, please try Bop English; the new solo project of James Petralli from White Denim.