Dinosaur Jr's Mascis Appears On New BSS 'Solo' Project

Dinosaur Jr's Mascis Appears On New BSS 'Solo' Project

Core member of the ever expanding and contracting [b]Broken Social Scene[/b]players, Kevin Drew is to play a handful of UK shows this week, playing material from new 'solo' project 'Spirit If'.

The solo album - attributed to Broken Social Scene Presents Kevin Drew - features most current and former BSS musicians from the group playing songs that Drew has written.

Other BSS core member [b]Brendan Channing[/b] is currently holed up in Toronto recording the second of the 'BSS Presents' series.

'Spirit If…' was recorded over the last two years at Ohad Benchetrit’s house and was produced by Drew, Benchetrit and Charles Spearin.

The album also features a guest appearance from Dinosaur Jr’s J. Mascis.

The full track listing for the album is as follows:

01. Farewell To The Pressure Kids
02. TBTF
03. F--ked up kid
04. Safety Bricks
05. Lucky Ones
06. Broke Me Up
07. Gang Bang Suicide
08. Frightening Lives
09. Underneath The Skin
10. Big Love
11. Backed Out On The...
12. Aging Faces / Losing Places
13. Bodhi Sappy Weekend
14. When It Begins

The track TBTF is currently available as a free download here:

[b]Kevin Drew[/b] is currently on a short UK tour, he plays:

[b]Manchester – Academy (October 16)
Birmingham – Academy (17)
London – Koko (19)[/b]


Editor's Letter

Introducing… Elvis Costello: The Ultimate Music Guide

In June 1977, Allan Jones of the Melody Maker took a familiar route to the offices of Stiff Records in West London. His appointment, that day, was with a notably irascible young singer-songwriter from Hounslow. In the course of a frequently startling interview, the man who had chosen to call...