Wild Mercury Sound

Uncut Playlist 44, 2011

John Mulvey

I suspect this will be the last playlist of 2011, so thanks once again for all your encouragement and support over what has been a slightly erratic year of blogging.

Some interesting things in here for February and March, including the Disappears album which is playing as I type; perhaps some kind of New Year’s resolution will encourage me to blog more regularly again in 2012.

In the meantime, this may be one of my last blogs of the year (though I’ll repost my albums of the year on a single blog in the next day or two), but please add your own 2011 charts here and keep in touch on Twitter: @JohnRMulvey. I’ll keep working at that.

Happy Solstice, and so on…

1 The Necks – Mindset (ReRMegacorps)

2 Mikal Cronin – Tide/You Gotta Have Someone (Goner)

3 Mi & Lau – If Beauty Is A Crime (Important)

4 The Necks – Aether (ReRMegacorps)

5 Eyvind Kang – Live Low To The Earth, In The Iron Age (Abduction)

6 James Ferraro – Far Side Virtual (Hippos In Tanks)

7 Various Artists – Pop Ambient 2012 (Kompakt)

8 Dustin Wong – Dreams Say, View, Create, Shadow Leads (Thrill Jockey)

9 Eyvind Kang – The Narrow Garden (Kranky)

10 Palace Songs – Hope (Domino)

11 Mouse On Mars – Parastrophics (Monkeytown)

12 Neal Morgan – In The Yard (Self-Released)

13 Lambchop – Mr M (City Slang)

14 Andrew Bird – Break It Yourself (Bella Union)

15 Disappears – Pre Language (Kranky)


Editor's Letter

Introducing… Elvis Costello: The Ultimate Music Guide

In June 1977, Allan Jones of the Melody Maker took a familiar route to the offices of Stiff Records in West London. His appointment, that day, was with a notably irascible young singer-songwriter from Hounslow. In the course of a frequently startling interview, the man who had chosen to call...