Wild Mercury Sound

The 34th Uncut Playlist Of 2013

The 34th Uncut Playlist Of 2013
John Mulvey

Jams, folks. Please take ten minutes to watch the excellent clips below from Natural Child and Chris Forsyth. The image above is the cover of Forsyth’s tremendous forthcoming album, which I’ll try my damnedest to write about in the next day or two.

Weirdest discovery of the week has been the song Pete Townshend wrote for The Barron Knights. More edifyingly, though, I can especially recommend new arrivals from Kurt Vile, Four Tet and, for at least the first ten minutes (The album’s only just started playing as I type), Daniel Bachman.

Deervana, incidentally, are Deer Tick (a band I’ve never much cared for) making an uncanny fist of “All Apologies”; their version of “In Utero” in its entirety is available to download at www.nyctaper.com, though I must confess I haven’t had the coverage to listen to it as yet.

It does, though, give me an excuse to link to my original 1993 review of Nirvana’s In Utero from NME, which I discovered was online thanks to this piece in The Atlantic. My evident anger with Kurt Cobain’s media-unfriendliness and general attitude to fame now reads very much like the work of a piqued Features Editor, but I’m not as embarrassed by some of the stuff in there as I expected to be.

Follow me on Twitter: www.twitter.com/JohnRMulvey

1 The Waterboys – Fisherman’s Box (EMI)

I wrote a review of the Waterboys’ Fisherman’s Box here

2 Sore Eros & Kurt Vile – Jamaica Plain (Care In The Community)

3 Plankton Wat – Drifter’s Temple (Thrill Jockey)

4 The Bryan Ferry Orchestra – A Selection Of Yellow Cocktail Music (Sony)

5 White Denim – Corsicana Lemonade (Downtown)

6 Throwing Muses – Paradise/Purgatory (The Friday Project)

7 Four Tet – Parallel Jalebi (Text)

8 Chris Forsyth – Solar Motel Part II (Shaker Steps)

9 Various Artists – Traxbox (Harmless)

10 The Blind Boys Of Alabama Featuring Justin Vernon – Every Grain Of Sand (Sony)

11 Deervana – All Apologies (www.nyctaper.com)

12 Midlake – Antiphon (Bella Union)

13 The Beatles – On Air: Live At The BBC Volume 2 (Apple)

14 Grizzly Bear – Will Calls (Warp)

15 Josephine Foster – I’m A Dreamer (Fire)

16 Autechre – L-Event (Warp)

17 Trans – Trans Red EP (Rough Trade)

18 The Barron Knights – Lazy Fat People (Columbia)

19 Pete Townshend – Lazy Fat People (Demo)

20 Chris Forsyth – Solar Motel (Paradise Of Bachelors)

21 Matthew E White – Outer Face EP (Domino)

22 Miracle – Mercury (Planet Mu)

23 Natural Child – Blind Owl Speaks (Rollo & Grady Sessions)

24 Hiss Golden Messenger – Haw (Paradise Of Bachelors)

25 Daniel Bachman – Jesus I’m A Sinner (Tompkins Square)

Uncut is now available as a digital edition! Download here on your iPad/iPhone and here on your Kindle Fire or Nook.


Editor's Letter

The 3rd Uncut Playlist Of 2015

Still at that stage of the year where I nearly type 2014 every time instead of 2015, but time moves on - swifter, perhaps, than Bjork for one would've liked this week, given how an unauthorised leak forced the release of "Vulnicura" a couple of months ahead of schedule.